Summer on a Shoestring


Birthday Drama
July 19, 2016, 5:54 pm
Filed under: Daily life, Uncategorized

Shan Shan

Fell sick during fertilization.  Shinjini took me to Memorial hospital right on my birthday.  The examination went on and on with the doctor coming up with hypotheses.   Finally doctor told me my blood sodium level dropped below normal and handed me two cans of Gatorade.  It was nearly dinner time when we left hospital.  Worrying messages kept coming to Shinjini’s phone.  We went to Hannaford for two whole packs of Gatorade then went to a steak house where others have been there waiting for me.  Everyone made sure I ate lots of salt on my steak.  After dinner when I got home all lights were off.  When I entered the door everyone welcomed me with a giant chocolate cake lighted by candles in their hands, singing happy birthday to me.  Candle light warmed up the house and my heart, along with a little goose draw by Caitlin and my name written by Shiyi.  It was a great cake.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I remember that you weren’t feeling well during fertilization. I didn’t know the story had a happy ending! Happy Birthday.

Comment by yanai




Leave a Reply

